top of page



  • Beijing is a city located in the country of China.

  • Beijing is the capital city of China.

  • The official language of Beijing is Mandarin.

  • Beijing (and all of China) is located on the continent of Asia.

  • Russia, Vietnam and India are some of the countries that border (are next to) China.



Keep reading to learn some "Fun Facts" about Beijing. 


When you finish, there are games at the bottom of this page. 

Have Fun !


  1. Beijing didn't always have the name Beijing.  Beijing is actually the 16th name this city has had. It has been known as Beijing since 1403.                                                            

  2. Beijing is the 2nd largest city on China.  Shanghai is the biggest.                         .                                                              

  3. Beijing has 2 official flowers: the Chinese Rose and the chrysanthemum.                                                                          

  4. Beijing was the first country to host both the Winter Olympics and the Summer Olympics.                                                                                           

  5. Beijing has been ruled by many different groups of people and has a lot of history.  It has seven (7) UNESCO World Heritage  Sites:     
    - The Great Wall of China
    - The Forbidden City
    - The Summer Palace
    - The Temple of Heaven
    - The Ming Tombs
    - Peking Man Site at Zhoukoudian                                        - The Grand Canal                                                                   

  6. Tiananmen Square is the second largest city square in the world.                     

  7. The flag of China has two colors on it: red and yellow.

  8. The Great Wall is the longest wall in the world and the Forbidden City is the largest palace in the world.              

  9. The Summer Palace has the world's largest imperial garden and the Temple of Heaven is the most religious temple in Beijing.                                                                                     

  10. China is a communist (a form of government) country.                    

bottom of page